A call for Media Council Journalism Excellence Awards 2015

Scene from last years awards.
Scene from last years awards.

The Media Council of Kenya (MCK) will hold its Fourth Annual Journalism Excellence Awards (AJEA) on 2nd May 2015 to coincide with the World Press Freedom Day held annually on 3rd May.

The awards ceremony is an annual event organised by the Council to recognise and uphold excellence and professional journalism in Kenya.

The Council invites all accredited journalists working in Kenya to submit work published or broadcast in local media within last year (March 2014), including and up to 8 th March 2015.


i. ICT and Telecommunications’ Reporting Award

ii. Children and Youth affairs Reporting Award

iii. Gender Reporting Award

iv. Environment Reporting Award

v. Sports Reporting Award

vi. Tourism Reporting Award

vii. Health Reporting Award

viii. Arts and Culture Reporting Award

ix. Business Reporting Award

x. Good Governance Reporting Award

xi. Cartoonist of the year Award

xii. Photographer of the Year Award

xiii. Young Journalist of the Year Award

xiv. Cameraperson of the Year Award

xv. Free Press Kenya Award

xvi. Television and Radio News Bulletin Award

Submission deadline for entries is 8th March 2015. For more details and the application form visit: www.mediacouncil.or.ke or send an email to: awards@mediacouncil.or.ke